About Heimbach


The Prussians started regulating the stream Rur. At the beginning of the 19th century, the Eifel was also referred as “Prussians Siberian”, because it only consisted of extensive moors, which was due to the keeping of too many sheep.

On June 10, 1883, a huge thunderstorm occurred in the area upstream of Heimbach, flooding the town and destroying many houses. To put an end to this type of flooding, construction of the Urfttalsperre started in 1904. The Second World War also caused considerable damage to the castle and the town.

Today Heimbach is a “Staatlich anerkannter Luftkurort” (a town which has a climate and air quality which is considered beneficial to health and recovery).