Palace of the Prince-Bishops

Palace of Prince-Bishops

The Palace of the Prince-Bishops (French: Palais des Princes-Evêques) is a historic building situated on the Place Saint-Lambert in the centre of Liège, Belgium. It was the residence of former Prince-Bishops of Liège. It once faced the monumental Cathedral of Saint Lambert.
Its imposing facade dominates the end of the Place Saint-Lambert, centre of commercial life in Liège, where St Lambert’s Cathedral formerly stood. Two buildings preceded the present palace, a first palace integrated with the fortifications was built about 1000 CE by Bishop Notger, but it was destroyed by fire in 1185.


At present, the building is occupied by the provincial services and the Palace of Justice of Liège.